Case 24: In the photo below, the red boat has come up from astern and established an overlap on both the white and the gray boat.
1. Can White (windward) successfully protest Red under rule 17 if the latter is "pushed" above his proper course by 9483?
Can the gray boat (9483) successfully protest Red if the latter bears away here?

1. No. Red would in fact be sailing his proper course if he were coming up to keep clear of the leeward boat.
3. No. The old rule 17.2 that prevented a windward boat from sailing down on the leeward boat trying to pass has been gone from RRS since 2009. Red can thus do as he pleases - provided he keeps clear of the leeward boat.

return to quiz