|Case 13: In
the photo below, W825 (far
CL1050 (the two boats on the left) drew even
with the mark while they were clear ahead. They have
just now turned to
get into rounding mode.
1. Are any of the three boats on the right entitled to mark-room from CL1050?
2. Are any of the three boats on the right entitled to mark-room from W825 (far left)?
1. No. It appears that CL1050 did not begin to turn until he reached the zone at which point he was clear ahead of all three boats now reaching the mark. If that was indeed the case, rule 18.2(c)(2) applies, and none of the three is entitled to mark-room from 1050.
2. Yes. W825 still has yet to reach the zone and has established no rights regarding mark-room. In fact, if it should come to that, the three on the right now all have rights to mark-room from 825 who has put all three of them into an overlaped position by turning as he has done above.
|return to quiz|