Case 11: In the photo below, W6 has just rounded the leeward mark and tacked to starboard. W1191 is about to round the leeward mark.
1. Does being subject to rule 18 give W1191 any protection from W6 here?
2. What limitations does rule 16, if any, place on W6 here?

1. No. Rule 18 only applies if both boats are approaching the mark, and here, W1191 is in the zone but W6 has already rounded. Thus, rule 18 cannot apply, and the situation reverts to rule 10 (port/starboard).
2. As per rule 16.1, W6 must not alter course in any way that will leave W1191 insufficient room to keep clear.

return to quiz