1. At the moment Leeward establishes an overlap,
begins to apply.
2. Under rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way), Leeward
must initially give
Windward room to
unless she acquired
right of way due to the
other boat's actions (e.g. the Laser deliberately
sailed backwards or
bore away sharply).
3. Rule 15 requires - by the word initially -
that the overtaken boat take immediate action to
4. Leeward will subsequently be limited by rule 17.1
which limits Leeward to sailing no higher than her proper
course while that particular overlap
continues to exist.
5. No. This is a common misconception. Leeward is
always the right-of-way
boat, and, as long as Leeward remains within the
limits imposed on her
by the rules, Windward must keep clear. It is
Leeward who is entitled to sail her proper course
and Windward must keep clear, and not the other way