Case 2: In the photo below, which I changed to a mirror image to make the situation more interesting, W286 is completing his beat as the Laser starts his run. They are in the zone.
Does Rule 18 apply? Who has the right of way? Why?
What restraints, if any, do the Rules place on this right-of-way boat?

Answer: No. Rule 18 does not apply between two boats where one is leaving the mark and the other is approaching it.  Thus, the regular r-o-w rules apply. W286 is on port tack, the Laser is on starboard tack. Thus, the Laser has the right of way because rule 10 applies. However, under rule 16, he may not alter course in a way that makes it impossible for the Wayfarer to keep clear.

return to quiz